Assessment · Uncategorized

Reflections- Cycle 2.

What did you learn about professional development by going through the design process?

I learned that the stronger and more diverse your technical skills are the better you perform in a team based design process. It is important to maintain your professional development as the technology used changes rapidly, so your skill set needs to develop along with it. The more technical skills you have and the stronger you understand the role you and others play in the design process, will result in a better product design and the process becomes more efficient. For example: My coding skills are very basic, and this is only my second use of C#,  my skills have developed over the design process and areas of the design I could not do at the beginning of the design process have become something I now feel comfortable doing. The better my C# skills become the more efficient and comfortable I feel during the development of the game and the clearer I understand what others, such as programmers are doing in relation to the game design. This increased knowledge enables me to interact with them more fluently as I have a clearer understanding of how the choices I make effect the work they are doing.

What did you learn about the other majors in the degree by working in mixed teams?

I learned everyone has strengths and weakness which are often reflected by the learning paths they have taken. Example: Software majors have a better understanding of coding than I do. It is important to utilise these strengths in your development in order to be more efficient and produce a better quality product design as a group. You need to focus on what is required for the task and not let pride or emotion cloud your judgement and affect your level of involvement. There is no real right or wrong in the development cycle, it’s about what is going to work best, trusting the groups judgement and taking on-board what people with strengths in a certain area of the development recommend even if it may sometimes contradict your own ideas.

What did you implement in your own individual work that you found the most satisfying?

It was one line of code. This came about as I recognised what I needed, thought about it briefly and executed what I needed first time and it worked well. This was something I was not able to do three weeks ago. I am really satisfied with the difference between this cycles and last cycles games I made. The quality of the game is my best to date and I am proud of my achievement.

Do you think that there are any ethical issues attached to designing a First Person Experience inspired by recent events?

Yes definitely. When developing a game for a large market group to enjoy playing,  it is important to cater to everyone, including minorities amongst the target audience. For example, our concept involves children being the antagonist in the game who the player must confront to win. Shooting children is something which is not going to play well in any game due to the moral issues it raises. In my game, I changed the children into demons so the player feels comfortable. People will not enjoy doing something they don’t like and will be outraged with it if it offends them enough. News events often deal with morals and effects on people’s lives so can be easily interpreted as offensive in a game environment.

torcher

Reflections completed by Justin Johnstone. N9428127. darknstormy777.

Leave a Reply

